Things just keep on happening!

A Panel!

It’s been a while since I made a leaded glass panel, so I was very happy to get the commission from Jim and Kay in Grand Falls. The technique is very different from fusing, and takes a lot more time; this, however, allows a lot of time for contemplation and thought, and brings to mind age-old methods of working with glass. So as I worked on this, I had the chance to think about a lot of different things, and also, perhaps more importantly, was reminded why I chose this medium to work with. The ‘art’ glass used for the leaded glass panels is so beautiful, it’s always hard for me to choose which type of glass I want to use for which segment of a piece… I love them all! In this piece, however, I am particularly enamoured with the yellows in the centre of the blooms, as well as the rich reds that I spread throughout the piece.

I was very excited for Jim and Kay to see their panel, and I hope that they enjoy it for years to come. In fact, I would love to see it in their home one day!

Leave a Reply

